Dicks in the Workplace?

So I often rant about my feelings on topics like religion, gender, race, homosexuality, abortion, immigration, etc., etc., on FB (wildly liberal if you don’t already know that), today I’m going to rant about how I know which guys at work are dicks and which guys are not in the realm of gender.

I recently participated in a team-building activity where we were put into groups with people from other departments that we normally don’t work with. We were given a problem-solving task and off we go. I was the only girl on the team. After a few comments/suggestions, I offered a comment. The guys who had worked with me before responded to what I said or acknowledged me, but one guy in particular kept ignoring my suggestions. He also talked right over me. So when we were given a 2nd task, I spoke LOUDER because in the past I noticed that seemed to at least command attention.

Those of you that know me have in the past heard me say, “Hey let me finish my sentence, you’re interrupting me!!”

Bottom line – body language speaks eons so I would highly recommend to gentlemen who have female colleagues (if you don’t already do) to be sensitive towards the fact that women often have to work extra hard to be acknowledged as equal contributors. Please give them a chance to speak, please do not talk over them. BE AWARE OF YOUR BODY LANGUAGE.

I often wonder why companies in Utah do not do sensitivity training. At least the ones I have worked in have not done so. In the past I have had dudes poke me in my side, scratch their backs against the walls of my cubicle, help me stretch (and no I did not ask them to), and swing by way too often just to ‘chat’ with me while I was attempting to get work done because they assumed I would be waiting with a smile, a listening ear and a back rub perhaps. I do have/had good buddies at work that were always welcome, but I was never discrete about it. Guys knew when they were unwelcome in my work space.

On the other hand, those of you gentlemen who have always known and understood these concepts I speak of, and there are very many of you, I thank you greatly for your love and support.

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

