Salt Lake City Industrial Part II

A few more stores in the industrial neighborhood I failed to mention in my last post.

My Dough Girl — I was absolutely blown away by the deliciousness of their cookies! I was out having lunch with my mother visiting from Japan, and she wanted to have some American oatmeal cookies for dessert, so we looked up their website. Being from Japan and being used to eating cookies made with premium ingredients such as real butter, we were not remotely interested in cookies made of Crisco — however their website specified that their ingredients were of premium quality, so we decided to give it a try.

When we arrived they had a special summer cookie made with fresh raspberries. They offered a sample, so we gave it a try, and it was DELICIOUS!!! We decided to buy a few! I would highly recommend cookies from My Dough Girl.  I also noticed they currently have a booth at the Saturday Farmer’s Market at Pioneer Park, so that would be a good place to try it also.

My Dough Girl cookie store is now in my top 3 favorite cookie store in town!

They have a super cute store on 3rd west!

My Dough Girl
770 South 300 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2603
(801) 834-6111

Frida Bistro — Can Mexican food be any more delicious AND fabulous??? Last week we had a friend visiting from Spain, so along with my Irish and Russian friends (as well as my lovely bf) who were all extremely well-dined, we took the restaurant for a gourmet connoisseur critique.  The results? Unanimously two-thumbs up all around the table!! I had their Medallones de Atun, described as, “Ahi rubbed with guajillo pepper and seared. Served with queso fresco rice and romaine greens tossed in cilantro crema,” $22. Although the portions were smaller than expected, the food was outstandingly delicious and satisfying to the appetite. This is the sort of restaurant that really brings out the heart of Salt Lake City – industrial warehouse, great art, Mexican food.

Frida Bistro, truly a jewel

Image borrowed from the website - it is a stunning restaurant both inside and outside with a fantastic summer patio.

Frida Bistro
545 West 700 South
Salt Lake City, UT 84101
(801) 983-6692
Express Tailoring & Reweaving – Hands down THE best Tailor in town! Dzung is a Vietnamese tailor who apparently used to work at Nordstrom, but due to popular demand, opened his own business. His clientele span from Sundance films,  High School Musical, to even my friend Mr. Jesse Walker, whom I bumped into the day I first walked in to have my pants hemmed! Seeing Jesse, who is an infinitely fabulous Salt Lake City character, at Express Tailoring was a stamp of approval projecting that I had walked into the right place. Dzung does an AMAZING job. Not to mention he is so much cheaper than going to Nordstrom!!! If you go to Nordstrom to get your pants hemmed or have your dresses/skirts adjusted, STOP, turn around and head 5 min further North for better price, service and quality!!!
Express Tailoring
672 South 300 West
Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2601
(801) 596-1321
About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salt Lake City Industrial Part II

  1. Stephanie says:

    I was wondering about him since I have several pieces of clothing that need repair and I spend my life right down the street…Now I am definitely going to drop my silk skirt and satin dress off and see what he can do! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

