Salt Lake City Industrial Part I

Early this year I found a fantastic apartment for my boyfriend to move to, neighboring the industrial district of salt lake city.

At first we were rather skeptical of the neighboring homes, which were not kept up very well.  However, I had some rather hip (and prominent figures in salt lake city) friends who lived in the best industrial-space-converted-into-living space in the area — as well as being on the Trax line and half a block away from a large freeway entrance —  took away any doubt about the apartment being in the best location in town.

As we spent time exploring the neighborhood, we came across some outstanding businesses. Johnny Kolaches was my first and most favorite discovery of the neighborhood. It is a Czech bakery that serves Kolaches (a Czech pastry with fillings that can vary from ham, cheese to blueberry jam), and I read about it on the best blog in town by my friend Mr. Jesse Walker, NewCityMovement.  In addition to being only blocks away from very chilled hangouts such as Triangles (a low-key gay bar), the Republican (a gorgeous Irish pub), and the baseball stadium – OH AND LET US NOT FORGET MEDITRINA! A FANTASTIC TAPAS RESTAURANT!, I couldn’t help but fall in love with the convenience of being able to ride my bike to virtually anywhere downtown.

Last month I came across a review of a BBQ store half a block west of my boyfriend’s home, so we decided to give it a try. It is called Kaiser’s Barbecue & General Store.  I had driven past the store on many occasions, and thought it was some strange store selling country-themed tools. Turns out it was a lovely Texas-themed BBQ store! I ordered the Pork Steak sandwich by mistake when I really wanted the pulled pork sandwich, nonetheless found myself enjoying every bite of the sandwich. What made it even better was the gorgeous weather outside, and the benches they had set up next to a barn selling country-style yard decorations.

I miserably failed to take any photos of the food because I was too busy eating, but I managed to snap a few photos of the outside of the store lol.

Kaiser BBQ from the back.

The sign.

The silly bf.

Warehouses across the street.

Country-style yard decorations being sold at the store.

The neighboring homes were very charming, yet another surprise in the area.

The sunshine bringing out a pretty color in the rootbeer bottle compelled me to look through ... lol

The industrial neighborhood inspires artistic creativity such as this - photo taken through the rootbeer bottle.

Posing - per usual.

There was something very pleasurable about dining at Kaiser’s (and discovering the industrial neighborhood) — a feeling of falling in love with treasures in the quirky yet historic part of town that most people try to drive past as quickly as possible without ever stopping by. It was a feeling of finding that, in some ways, there is greater passion for work and life to be found in those areas, the workshops of town, where people craft things with their hands with love like all great American businesses used to.

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

