Whole Foods

I occasionally shop at Whole Foods despite the fact that every time I shop there I somehow manage to spend twice as much on the same amount of groceries I would spend at grocery stores such as Harmon’s or Sunflower Market.

It can’t be helped! Whole Foods is AWESOME if you are into buying products / produce that are organic or fair and honest in their trade practices. Ever since watching the documentary, Food Inc., I decided to raise the bar on my holistic living practices in the area of Food.  I have been making great efforts to purchase anything that says organic.

The documentary essentially convinced me that when I don’t care about what I eat or where my food came from, somewhere (often in places I never see) people, animals and the earth itself suffers in the most cruel and unfair manner.

At Whole Foods you can find meats that adhere to standards such as no antibiotics, no hormones and no animal byproducts in feed.  The also have seafood that are environmentally responsible and sustainable.

Although, as any other grocery giant, there are questions that need to be asked as to the environmental impact of mass-produced organic products being transported thousands of miles to the consumer.  However, I would much prefer to shop at business that make great efforts to tell us honestly where their products come from, and why they cost as much as they do.

A few months ago I read an article comparing Whole Foods organics with Wal-Mart Organics in the Atlantic Magazine online.  What shocked me most about this article, was that Wal-Mart pumped chicken broth in their chickens because their chickens had no flavor.  This is the quintessential example of how demanding lower costs turned chicken into not-chicken-anymore.  What is it if it has no flavor and has to have broth pumped into it? Tasty rubber??

I think the great problem with modern-day consumption is precisely that people want greater quantity for lower prices without really knowing or caring about how that is accomplished.  There are often complaints about how expensive it is to try to eat ‘organic,’ however, I think that these expensive prices are reflective of how much things should cost if we were producing and trading with honesty and integrity.

The higher prices would force us to be less consumptive and wasteful as well, hence resolving the serious health problems that are ailing our society today such as obesity.

This is why I don’t mind paying premium prices at Whole Foods when I have the opportunity to shop there.  Not to mention they just simply have great selection and quality.

Whole Foods Market
http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whole Foods

  1. chris says:

    Good read Amber! I have to argue however that the average consumer will never pay the higher price, ever, so for organic diets to become the norm, the food has to be cheap. Whole Foods has recognized this to some extent, they have their own low-cost line. I do see one alternative to this, but it involves humankind interfacing with environmental factors drastically more unpleasant than those which currently exist.

  2. ambertaniuchi says:

    Haha, I agree with you. The average consumer will not pay the higher price unless forced to, and the free market demands lower prices — hence making it extremely difficult for organic and holistic industries. This is why it is important for people like you and me to consume the way we do because maybe as individuals it seems like small operation, but as a collective I truly believe we can make a difference!! — I probably ought to put that on a bumper sticker and start selling it.

Leave a Reply

