Todd Goldman

Today one of my members-only shopping websites BillionDollarBabes was selling the ‘Art of Todd Goldman.’

Todd Goldman, the controversial artist and owner of David and Goliath — a character goods company selling his cute but edgy artwork printed on every household item imaginable from T-shirts to door mats to body lotion.

David and Goliath had a few store locations in Honolulu, and when I used to live there I visited the store on occasion with the same enthusiasm of visiting a Sanrio store to buy Hello Kitty goods.

I was really excited to see his artwork on BillionDollarBabes, so I checked out the sale, but to my dismay, his artwork was selling at prices that made his work completely unattainable! The lowest price was $300 for a 12 x 12 or smaller print, averaging $2000 for 36 x 36 prints, and going all the way up to $7000 in the upper-range.

The first thought that went through my head was, REALLY Todd?! I mean it is one thing to price a truly unique piece of artwork (that an artist might have spent weeks designing and creating) at a premium, but to price artwork that seem fairly easy to mass-produce (Todd’s artwork require very few line strokes and colors compared to something like, say, Klimt’s artwork) as though the artist had spent months perfecting each piece, seemed extremely narcissistic and egotistical to me.  In addition, some of his work is under question as to it’s originality.

Despite these unattractive stories behind the artwork, I still find myself wanting a piece, or two, or three!

(Click on images below to see bigger)

The one piece I would absolutely love to hang up in my home.

Lovely images combined with offensive phrases makes his work all the more appealing.

Much to appreciate.

So cute!

Sheer brilliance!

Goldman's signature 'boys' statements that captured that heart of many girls.

More cuteness!

Just say it like it is.

Well done for yourself Todd Goldman, man who knows how to earn gold!

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Todd Goldman

  1. Julia says:

    Todd Goldman is my ultimate favorite right now, I love every single one of his pieces and hope to collect many. I started here:

    http://qart.com/blog/index.php/todd-goldman-art-auctions/

Leave a Reply

