Copper Onion – yum!

Will and I had heard so much about the Copper Onion we decided to finally give it a try a few Sundays ago.  The Copper Onion recently took over a restaurant location that had countless numbers of different restaurant try and fail year after year — but I think, finally, we have a restaurant that is here to stay!

(No offense to all the other failed restaurants but) I was absolutely thrilled to walk in to find that they had completely renovated the interiors. The location used to have dirty white tiles on the floor, as well as an old unsightly kitchen, but the floors were  replaced with dark hard-wood and the kitchen area turned into an open kitchen/bar with an almost vintage-American theme throughout the restaurant.  Even the bathrooms were lovely! I must say, no matter how fancy a restaurant is, if the bathrooms are not very nice it can completely ruin the dining experience.

I would describe their menu as heavy American-fusion with a home-made feel.  Everything seemed to be made from scratch, flavored with real butter and real cream which are all things I absolutely love! They also have a beautifully unique cocktail list, and the ‘Hot Spring’ is currently my hands-down favorite.

We ordered sauteed spinach as an appetizer (normally a dinner side). Although the portion was disappointingly small, we agreed it was so unbelievably delicious, it was almost the highlight of our dinner.

'Hot Spring' : Herradura Anejo Tequila, Fresh Jalapenos, Yuzu, Grapefruit and Soda = AMAZING!

Will's Copper Onion Burger

My special pasta of the day. Toasted / sauteed pasta with oysters and clams.

So excited to eat!! Dress from Ann Taylor.

My sweet boyfriend. Jacket from Rag & Bone.

Will ordered the most delicious home-made lime sorbet!

My cookie plate came with a brownie, chocolate & peanutbutter cookies, biscotti and a tall glass of milk! I LOVE IT!!!

Hooray to the COPPER ONION!!!

The Copper Onion
111 E Broadway Ste 170
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
(801) 355-3282
http://www.thecopperonion.com/

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Copper Onion – yum!

  1. Faith says:

    Nathan and I have been there a couple of times: we really like it. I had the duck confit once and it was AMAZING. I also like their brussel sprout side.

    Your mussels look yummy: the last time we were there a waiter spilled an entire plate of them into some lady’s lap–yikes!

    • ambertaniuchi says:

      Oh how cool!!! I’ll have to try the duck next time for sure!! Haha, I noticed some of their tables were pretty close together and hard to walk by. I love that it’s next to the Broadway theaters — Will and I went and saw BABIES right after dinner. I was having a cute attack, while Will pretty much fell asleep half of the movie but it was awfully nice of him to come with!!

Leave a Reply

