More Food

I am now trying to catch up with some past events that took place, and here is more about food. My best friend Bpet–pronounced ‘BET’–(who is also a single gay man who happens to be a hell of a catch, if you know anyone available) and I get together anywhere from once to three times a week and share a meal. We have had things like chicken wings and fries from some of the best brewpubs in Utah to grilling in the summer time to homemade Asian Crepes that melted my mouth.

Mid-January 2010, my good Russian friend Ed invited us over for his birthday party. At his party, him and his girlfriend Rita had prepared some of the best appetizers I have had at a party. Salami, Prosciutto, Pumpernickel bread, pickles, cheese, roasted bell peppers, etc., etc., the list goes on. These appetizers may sound rather ordinary, but the quality and variety of items they provided were not something I could have pulled out of thin air. Rita had gone to a Russian store in Salt Lake City and picked up some of the meats. Bpet and I were absolutely mesmerized by the food.

I am often in awe of the appetizers that are served when I go to parties of friends who come from Europe, the Middle East or Russia. I have had home-made hummus, aged cheese with mangoes mixed in them with crackers or breads I would have never thought to pick up in my entire life.

In fact what struck me recently is that I would actually have difficulty in coming up with a somewhat European appetizer menu because it was not something I grew up with or even ever attempted to try. I would imagine that Rita would have learned many of her entertainment food tricks from her mother, just like how I learned to make delicious salads from my mother or proper Japanese sushi from my grandmother.

So on this particular evening a few weeks ago when Bpet and I decided to get together, in an attempt to blow away our mid-week blues, I decided to give the ‘East of the Atlantic’ appetizers a try. As predicted, I had troubles at the grocery store. I tried to pick up everything I could think of, but when I was done filling up my shopping cart I was left wondering if I had picked up everything I needed. Well in fact, I did NOT know what it was that I needed.

So, here are the photos from my attempts. Obviously not nearly as good as Ed and Rita’s, but they weren’t too bad 🙂

Pickels, Olives, Grapes, Apples, etc. What was exciting was that I was able to use my recently acquired Japanese glass server.

I loved how this plate turned out with preciutto and pumpernickel bread. The dish is a ceramic piece I picked up at a vintage store, absolutely gorgeous.

Voila! We finished both plates between the two of us lol.

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Food

  1. benet selfaison says:

    hi amber,

    i’ve read your weblog and i’m amazed of your talent in writing. i wish i could do it the way you do… like a pro! hey, you could publish a book!
    now i know where i could go to write “my memoir.” ha-ha-ha.
    keep on writing girl, i love reading it and you’ve inspired me.
    YOU’VE GOT TALENT!!!

    luv ya,
    auntie benet

Leave a Reply

