Thrift Shopping

Oktoberfest

As if to make a lame contribution to my regimen of shaping up with my finances, I decided to go thrift shopping. Last month I had worked very hard to stick to my budget, but I was dying to go shopping (treasure hunting). So, although it meant going over budget, I decided to go shopping anyway–at Savers.

People might say, ‘oh well that’s not so bad,’ but just the concept that I couldn’t restrain myself from going shopping to reach a highly coveted goal was quite bad. I knew I had other expenses coming up and I still went. This is why I say it was a rather lame contribution to the cause.

However, I did find treasures, YES!

Recently I had gone to Oktoberfest at the Snowbird resort. In a small tent of German souvenirs, I had discovered the German beer steins. They were hand-made and shipped from Germany, large-sized mugs with beautiful scenery carved and painted all the way around. They were so neat, I wanted to get one, but when I lifted the stein to see the prices on the bottom, I realized they cost over $100. Yikes! Someday, I thought to myself.

I had walked into Savers hoping to find a serving tray. I had bought a silver (not real) tray from Savers before and it really came in handy. I place it on my cushioned ottoman to hold drinks and meals. I wanted another tray. Luckily for me, I found a really cute one for 99 cents (see below), but also noticed a couple of German steins in the glassware aisle, and there were two matching ones so I decided to pick them up!

tray
So Retro

stein 3
Front

They were very busy with scenery and German writing, and VERY light to handle, so I was very excited for my findings. When I got home to check on the back where they might have been made, however to my surprise, they were made in Japan! No wonder the construction was so light! Japanese ceramics are made very light so they are easy to handle. I noticed plates and cups mass-produced in China were always so heavy so I have always naturally preferred Japanese ceramics.

stein 1
Back

They are very fun mugs to drink out of. It holds a lot of liquid, but is still very easy to hold and handle because they were light to start with. Brilliant!! The cost of the steins? $5 each, and I still get the authentic German feeling!

stein 4
Front


stein 2
Back

I also went to a Pawn shop for the first time. My friend Bpet took me along and showed me the ropes. I found this nearly in brand new condition of American Psycho with Christian Bale. It’s a rather disturbing comedy that once gave me nightmares, but it’s still Christian Bale so I had to get it. It cost me a total of $2!!

DVD

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

