Acquisition : Serving Plate

Two or so months ago, I drove up to Heber City with my parents (who were visiting from Japan) to check out the Heber Farmer’s market. It had been probably over a decade since I had visited Heber. It is a small town about 20 minutes South of Park City, and about 45 min Southeast of Salt Lake City.

When we had driven up, there was a strange summer storm blowing ominously dark clouds and strong winds. Since a friend of mine was selling BBQ Shrimp up at the market and we had promised to come visit, we went up anyway. I mostly wanted to spend time with my parents so the stormy weather was not particularly bothersome.

When we got to ‘downtown’ Heber, I was quite shocked. It seemed to be made up of one major road that ran through town that consisted of fast food restaurants, a few grocery stores and small businesses with signs that looked like they had been there since the 50’s. I suddenly felt like a city snob that somehow ended up in the middle of a redneck hick town, and even had flashbacks to the early 90’s when we had visited a summer parade in Spanish Fork, Utah where we were essentially the only minority family in town and everyone looked up to stare at us from their beach chairs as though we were the parade. When we parked near the farmer’s market I actually felt very shy about showing up in my snazzy outfit and Louis Vuitton purse–sort of how I feel ANYTIME I walk into Wal-mart.

However, my shyness was quickly dismissed once I saw the food stands and art vendors. I love outdoor markets, and I found myself right at home. I also noticed that the small town people were very friendly. I guess they had nothing else to do. They would buy food and stand around and just talk, or listen to the country music being played on Stage at the corner of the park. I really began to enjoy the evening.

As we were looking at the different vendors, we stumbled upon a lady selling her hand-made ceramic pieces. She had beautiful plates and cups, and one drew my attention in particular. It was a large square serving plate painted orange but with green dye all over the plate as though they were moss. She said she had used a crystal glaze. It was beautiful, and I decided that I needed to get it. Finding unique pieces is like finding treasure. Purchasing something that someone made with their own hands and buying it from the artist is also a very special and personal experience.

So without further ado–my beautiful serving plate from the Heber farmer’s market.

Serving Plate

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

