Acquisition : Gustav Klimt’s Tree of Life

Room

I feel like the luckiest person in the world.
I stumbled upon a canvas print of Gustav Klimt’s Tree of Life for a ridiculously good price, and the canvas was just the right size and fit precisely where I had intended to put it. I had a poster signed by some pro skaters up in my living room for the longest time, and I had been thinking that I really needed to get more ‘mature’ art up in my living room so it wouldn’t look like a college boy’s dorm room.

The first piece I had seen of Klimt’s work was ‘the Kiss’ years ago in an art book. I was so blown away by the painting. I felt that Klimt had painted the most beautiful thing in the world–love. It wasn’t just any love, it was romantic love. He had melted the woman and the man together using a patchwork of brilliant colors and shapes. Made them one, yet separate, yet together. The brilliant gold, green grass and tiny flowers below spoke of warmth and spring. Yet the painting is in no way modest. He robed the couple in what looked to be like the garments of kings and queens. Love was glamorous and everything to be desired. He moved in me a deep desire.

Years later I saw that my friend Melissa had decorated her room with a massive hanging of Klimt’s the Kiss and had hoped that someday I would also stumble into something just as beautiful. I truly believe that this canvas print was meant-to-be!

Klimt

The painting is absolutely gorgeous. According to my fabulous friend Melissa, this was originally a mural painted by Klimt, and the woman on the left is called ‘Anticipation’ and the couple on the right are called ‘Fulfillment.’ It’s so nice to have friends well-versed in art!

Art can really change people’s lives. I must say that this piece has had such impact on my life.

He had painted so many cool little things in the mural that I could literally sit for hours staring at it. The colors and shapes once again were so brilliantly chosen that I can’t help but have a feeling of awe every time I look at the genius work of Klimt.

What’s more, the tree in the middle explodes with energy in its branches. It gives me energy. The couple on the right fills me with hope. After having gone through so many failed relationships and fruitless dating as a single adult, I had reached a point where I truly felt hopeless. It didn’t matter what people assured me with, it didn’t matter what I knew to be true in my head, I had really reached a point where I felt a strange high in hopelessness, and that’s where I would have remained had I not found this print to bring home with me to remind me of hope.

Art really does change your life. I am still amazed at what this painting has done to change the energy in my home and in my life. I feel happy and very warm 🙂

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

