Amberzilla VS Mothra II

After the stressful and exhausting battle against Mothra, I rolled into work late, looking extremely pissed and un-sunshiny. When I explained to my colleagues what had transpired and why I wasn’t in the best of my moods, they began to roll on the floor saying it was ridiculous that I was fighting a moth with a beach towel and a vacuum. Apparently a moth can’t harm you and most people just capture it with their bare hands and release it outside.

Oh great, and get all that disgusting powder/dust on your hand.

One colleague teased that Mothra might just come out of the vacuum and haunt me like a zombie, or that it might have never died in the vacuum cleaner and lived off the dirt inside the vacuum cup. I was sure none of this was possible since the moth would have been sucked inside the cup and potentially crushed in the process.

That evening seemed a bit tough. Starting out with a stressful morning seems to leave you with a stressful evening. I got home extremely late because I stayed at work till 7 and ended up driving an additional 20 min on my way to the gym looking for cash to return to my friend, but not finding a bank. Some creepy old guy decided to do his cardio right next to me even though there were 6 other machines that were empty, and some crazy lady decided to write a check that would not scan properly for her groceries right in front of me so that the slow teenage cashier had to manually punch the numbers in. By the time I got out of the grocery store I was repeating to myself to get home as quickly as possible before I kill someone.

I ended up making a pretty good salad for dinner. After chatting with my mom on the phone a little, I hopped in the shower and was ready to head to bed. Then, I froze. Mothra, which I thought I had destroyed the night before, was sitting right on my curtain. My eyes were wide. I stood for quite some time wondering what I should do. Vacuum? No, the vacuum is in the living room. I walked back towards my closet and looked for something, maybe a jar or a box, that I could capture the moth with–but found nothing. I finally sneaked past the door right next to the window that housed the curtain that Mothra sat on, grabbed the vacuum and quickly sneaked back into the room.

As I began to assemble the hose again, a very important thought occurred to me. What if the vacuum fails to kill it again? What if Mothra comes flying right back out of the vacuum again? The vacuum was not going to work. Then, a voice in my head said, ‘it can’t harm you.’ I thought again for a moment. The only thing left to do was to attempt to capture the creature with my hands, just as my friends at work had described. I quickly grabbed my yellow rubber gloves that I use for cleaning the bathroom, and slowly approached Mothra with my hand outstretched, palm facing Mothra. When I got close enough, I quickly snatched it and closed my fist tight. I GOT IT!! I ran to my balcony, threw my fist open, then quickly closed the door. I ran back to my room just to make sure I had not missed it, but Mothra was nowhere to be found. I WON!!!

I had won a battle against Mothra in the most peaceful manner. Beyond that, I had won a battle against my fear. It was a triumph of Amberzilla to remember.

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Amberzilla VS Mothra II

  1. bijin says:

    love this story, Amber. I don’t think I could have done what you did. Bravo to you!

Leave a Reply

