My new AbFab Sergio Rossi’s!


I recently acquired 2 pairs of Sergio Rossi Shoes.

Besides the blatantly obvious fact that they were shoes made by Sergio Rossi–who had been crafting magnificently opulent Italian shoes that combined and challenged art and avant-garde for over 50 years–what made this purchase particularly special was that at the age of 22, I had stood in the Sergio Rossi boutique at Ala Moana shopping center in Honolulu and swore I would buy a pair of Sergio Rossi’s someday.

In the days that I had my nose pressed against the window drooling (not literally, I did manage to walk into the store with an older Japanese friend of mine who actually had money to purchase at high-end boutiques), it seemed that the house was designing so that the shoes could be walking down the red carpet on it’s own. I remember brilliant blues and reds, feathers and jems–and shapes and materials that separated itself from the ordinary, defining it’s own world. I also noticed that despite its flashy elements that often mirrored fireworks, the lines were still very delicate as though it were a French or Italian woman born with subtle class and chicness.

Having built the brand and expectation up, I do have to confess that I have been a little disappointed in their 2009 Summer collection. In my opinion it lacks the bling and bang that I have come to expect of Sergio Rossi’s, however, Vogue editor Anna Wintour did say that the fashion houses must be sensitive to the economy and focus on being much more grounded in their images. It must be a reflection of the times, in which case, the 2009 Summer collection is still brilliant. The shoes I acquired fall into this ‘more grounded’ category, but the shoes still make a subtle statement that economy or no economy (problems), art and craftsmanship will perpetuate and women will still look beautiful and sexy.

Well… my ‘my someday’ arrived, and here is my quickly assembled report. My digital camera stopped working recently, so I decided to use the built in iSight camera on my macbook to record this momentous occasion. Please excuse the extremely casual attire, minimal enthusiasm and the viral nature of the filming–it was filmed and edited past midnight after a long day at work and the gym.

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My new AbFab Sergio Rossi’s!

  1. Teresa says:

    Which pair do you like best?

  2. sam says:

    Hey–

    Awesome production value detailing your new shoes. Impressive!! The lead write up was amazing! You could be a journalist!!! LOL

    “I love the way they smell” was the highlight of the whole thing!

    You look super hot in those shoes!!
    The shoes must be happy to have such a gorgeous owner!!

    🙂

  3. Honey! says:

    O…M…G!!!! I cannot DEAL this is the best. post. ever. I am IN LOVE with your shoes! You’d better take them out and about and send pics! *Kisses*

  4. ambertaniuchi says:

    Ahahaha thanks guys, I love both shoes equally as though they were my children…or a boyfriend. If a boyfriend were shoes, they would look and smell like these.

Leave a Reply

