Clutches

Recently I had been looking for a black clutch to take with me when I go out at night or on the weekends. I had began coveting the oh so fabulous Tory Burch Crinkle Bombe Reva Clutch in Black Patent (shown above), but wasn’t quite ready to drop $350. Then my mother, who frequents the Purse Forum and has a hefty collection of expensive brand-named purses, suggested that I buy a Jalda Clutch. Apparently all the ladies on the Purse Forum have been raving about this nifty little clutch that converts into a tote.

In the process of looking for a Jalda clutch, I found a wonderful website Bonanzle.com which models itself after ebay, but with a much more personal touch. The sellers and users on bonanzle can interact over an IM app provided by the website, and the sellers seem to be a little more passionate about the items they sell, hence better quality service and items. The sellers are also given fairly easy-to-understand ratings and reviews, often also imported from ebay along with profiles which explain who they are. I have felt much safer purchasing from this website.

I found my Jalda clutch. The seller was selling the item for $124 O.B.O, so I offered to pay $100 and it was sold to me! The seller sent the item immediately. I had ordered the clutch on a Thursday night, and it arrived by Monday!

However, to be completely honest, I was not terribly excited by the simplicity of the clutch. The handle seemed to be awfully heavy for such a skinny clutch (a little worried about the clutch slipping out of my hand because the slick metal handle does not provide enough grip), and the leather was not folded perfectly. Also the lack of a strap would confine this clutch to dinner and cocktail parties only–I personally hate dancing with a clutch in my hand.

On the other hand, it is apparent that the leather is of high quality being very light in weight and also having a beautiful shine. The seams and the lining have also been sewn to perfection, along with the handle attached securely. The conversion to a tote is also perfect. The size is just right for carrying essentials for a night out (phone, keys, mirror, chapstick, credit cards) or a small planner/book for the daytime.

I am, all in all, quite excited to try it out the next time I go out to dinner. The ladies on the Purse Forum are quite experienced in the clutch department and I am hoping to find that they are right.

After I had spent all this time researching for clutches and had gone through the process of acquiring one, to my dismay, the ultimate clutch appeared on a website called Gilt.com, a discount website of the most fabulous brands ever. I am in serious remorse that I had missed the beginning of the Carlos Falchi Python purse sale because the one clutch I would have pulled $500 out of my savings account to purchase was sold out by the time I found it.

So the quest for the perfect clutch at the perfect price continues………

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

