Anti-python

After I had written the previous blog, I went back to Gilt.com and took a closer look at the python clutches. I began to drool and decided to purchase one of the clutches. At the point of decision, I asked one of my most talented graphic designer friend from A Daily Doodle to help me with deciding between pink and blue.

Then he proceeded to inform me that he had seen a video about how the snakes used for fashion are killed in the most cruel manner, wherein they are skinned alive and tossed aside to die a long and gruesome death.

I conducted further research to find that this is in fact true. With larger snakes, the poor reptiles are nailed against a tree alive, blown up like a balloon with a air tube forced down their throats and tanned (skinned) and tossed aside to die where they could be alive for up to 2 days!!! IT’S HORRIBLE!!! ABSOLUTELY CRUEL!!!

After reading this one might think there is no further debate over whether to buy the clutch or not. However, I will admit I am still drooling over the beauty of the skin, and find myself still thinking that since the snake has already been dead for quite sometime, perhaps it would be ok for me to purchase one. After all, it’s just me, one little person living in salt lake city, utah.

However, demand drives supply. According to an article written in 2007 in the Wall Street Journal regarding anaconda skin imports, “8,900 skins and products were imported to the U.S., up from 5,200 in 2000, according to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.” Which means with the recent python craze, the numbers must have gone up.

But could there possibly be a prettier clutch in the world?!

I am completely torn between the burning lust in my loins for a fabulous clutch and my conscience. Does one refuse to shop at Wal-Mart because they are tearing down local economy, providing terrible work environments for their employees and driving children to sweatshops in South East Asia?

I own a vintage python purse that my mother picked up at a vintage shop in Japan, and a vintage fur coat that an ex boyfriend had given to me. Vintage I think is ok because it’s recycling, and not demanding newer animals to be slaughtered. So perhaps vintage is the way to go, or will merely the act of carrying the item around and looking good encourage others to go out and drive greater demand for newer skins?

In my opinion, anything that drives excessive demand for animal slaughter is evil. This is not only with the fashion industry, but with the meat industry as well. The fight against animal cruelty begins with each person making a decision about living a kinder, more peaceful lifestyle with the planet. I know I sound like a hippie but it is absolutely important!!

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Anti-python

  1. I agree with everything you said. I’m opposed to animal cruelty. But I’m also conflicted about not patronizing all things leather unilaterally. The reason is because I’ve got distant relatives in the poverty stricken areas of the Philippines who eke out a living doing politically incorrect methods…not PC only in countries that do not have the same third world problems we do. I have distant cousins to go to school in the morning and then go home to work for at least 6 hours to weave hats and then others who dive for pearls when this would be against ‘child labour’ laws here in the US and other first world countries. They are happy to do it and have a great time. I’ve seen them sitting in their little shanties in a circle weaving with their other family members. I know they also make leather goods but not for international sale as the quality will not pass the high standards required for international sale. But if the world boycotts these industries, these poor people won’t have food on their table either. It’s all a matter of perspective. We here, in the western world look at animals so differently than those who live closer to them. It’s a whole different mind-set. I can’t penalize them for their limited thought processes but it still horrifies me how animals are treated. But there has to be some sort of middle-ground. I don’t agree with the killing of animals in such a cruel way as you’ve described. But I’m not opposed to buying those goods either provided there’s a way to certify they are cruelty-free. I don’t know the answer to this. But I know that there are two clashing worlds here. I guess what I’m saying is, if you like the purse, don’t get guilted into not buying them just because some uneducated people who live a different lifestyle can’t ‘get it’ like we do. Most companies now make sure that these goods come from exporters who share their same values re how animals should be used. Animals are still animals and we EAT them too and provide all kinds of good for us. The Lord put them on earth for our benefit. But we need to be responsible. So if you like the purse, GET IT. Just make sure it’s a reputable company…..the ones who sell them from the sidewalks or even if you go to HKG. and think you’re getting deal…those ones, I’m not so keen on buying. Anyway, just my 2 cents. Your mom told me to look at this link. I like your writing. Keep being YOU. You are awesome.

  2. PS. Sorry I did not edit my typos. Hahahaha

Leave a Reply

