Lunch Box

A few weeks ago the son of the devil walked into my condo and said, ‘I see you have the Japanese clutter thing going on!’ I’m like, WHAT?! Ok, I do have the Japanese clutter thing going on. That’s just how people live in Japan, though, in clutter. There is no concept of storage in their architecture, for the most part. Newer structures have more storage, but most homes/apartments are just simply tiny rooms with a window, and you have to figure out how to stack all those cool things you buy at the store that you’re not willing to ever throw away, including the packaging, wrapping and the paper bag that they gave you to carry it in at the store–because you were taught not to waste ANYTHING from your grandparents who lived through world war II. Seriously, the concept of storage does not exist, not the way it does out here in the West anyway.

It’s only been in the recent that I’ve noticed how everything seems to have a place in these American homes. All clutter is hidden away in drawers and containers. It’s a completely new concept to me. I like to leave things out where I can see them–I mean, what’s the point of buying something if you store it away and can’t ever see them–and besides, it’s easier to access them if they’re out in the open right?!

Well, I decided it was time that I adopt the American custom of living a clutter-free life… as much as I can manage with what little experience I have in organization. One thing I had gotten fairly good at was going through my closet and taking out clothes I never wore. This was easy since I had began practicing a few years ago while moving between cities. What I now had to do was move furniture around, go through the stacks of paper junk, throw out cosmetics and jewelry I never use and fiture out what to place in all these new containers I purchased at Costco. It was like playing tetris–quite fun actually–and when I was finally done past midnight, I looked around at my accomplishment and realized my mind and body was FILLED with new energy. There was excelleng chi flowing through my home now!

What was even more exciting was the discovery of my miniture igloo ice box. I had been, for weeks, wanting to replace my recycle Aloha lunch bag with something a little nicer. The ice box was perfect!–or so I thought. The size is perfect, construction sturdy and would keep anything from tipping over. What I failed to realize was that, once again, the cheap plastic look did not mesh well with my NY yuppie reality TV show-worthy fashion for work. *sigh*

So I began looking for cool new lunch boxes and here’s what I found:


There fabulous lunch boxes were found on www.Lunchboxes.com

Check out this cute little dumpling cooler

Found on various websites… Google ‘dumpling lunch cooler’

So anyway, life is great when your home is clean.

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

