Late Night Thoughts


I’m driving down the freeway towards the city
Lights are sparkling like the stars
Lights are blowing by like shooting stars
I’m listening to my House grooves
Thoughts are flashing as fast as the city lights,
Blinking at every stoplight, screaming red
Thinking about you, thinking about them, thinking about me
My eyes are still, like sunken ships in deep dark water
Piercing through the past and the future
Trying to find something to hold on to
A ‘lover’s rock,’ an anchor in the present
The water gets deeper and darker but the lights get brighter and louder
I’m here again, looking for some peace of mind
or maybe something to erase the past and cloud the fear of the unknown future
Something to keep me still right here
Make me feel like there’s something worth living for
The music and the lights and the sugar and the big clear glass in my hand
Smooth legs and tight threads and expensive jeans and fancy shoes
Intoxicated
The deep water turns into light clear blue and the sun begins to turn it into water from Bora Bora
Now the eyes are still, satisfied in a shape of a waning moon
Still thinking about you, thinking about them, thinking about me
But I’m here… finally.. I feel like I’m here
Where I could give a fuck about anything because everything feels right
Can’t get enough of it
That feeling of high I get from the city when it’s too late to care about anything but feelint good

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

