Cheap and Awesome Finds

I recently found a most adorable furniture consignment store in Sugarhouse. It is called EmilieJayne–someone blogged about it here. I noticed it first when Jacob and I were drying past the store–my eyes couldn’t help but be drawn to the stacks of cute furniture thrown out on their lawn. I quickly remembered the exact street the store was located on, and returned the following weekend with my friend Pixie (not real name but close enough lol). Although they were closing, the ladies that looked to be the owners allowed us to brows the store, and to our delight, we found tasteful items sold for unbelievably low prices!

Last weekend I returned once again to find a store full of treasures including vintage clutches, beautiful china, crystal glasses, small and large decorative items and much more! I had to work very hard to restrain myself from buying everything I could get my hands on, and resolved to buy these two beautiful things:


This is a rustic looking Side Table ($35) painted green with a drawer. I bought it to store small items that needed a home.


A signed pottery tray ($15). I saw it sitting on a chair in the back of the store and immediately fell in love with it. It would be perfect for sushi or salad.

*************************

It’s interesting to grow up to find yourself enjoying the same things your parents enjoyed as hobbies. One of my mom’s many hobbies was shopping at antique stores and find incredible deals for jewelry, decorative items and china. She sort of taught me that you don’t have to spend a lot of money to live well, and the excitement in finding deals that are almost steals.

Here’s a recent deal that I found on ksl.com classifieds:


This is a small table I’m using as my laptop station ($20).

Finally, not necessarily a deal, but another wonderful store I like to visit on the weekends that my friend Pixie introduced me to in downtown Salt Lake City:



Paradise Palms is a gorgeous plant store located near 300 south and 300 east, and Pixie mainly likes to go there to see the plant store guy with ‘hot eyes.’ The man is not a bad-looking guy, but impressive is his knowledge of the plants in the store. You can find everything from small bonsai trees to 10 ft tall palm trees. It’s truely a paradise inside.


I bought this beautiful little lacy plant to lighten up my room ($14).

I really love my little weekend strolls and adventures throughout SLC. There are still many stores and cafe’s I haven’t visited, and many that I intend to revisit to discover new things.

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cheap and Awesome Finds

  1. Faith says:

    If you ever want someone to go with you on a Saturday, I would totally be up for it. Those stores look like great places to shop!

Leave a Reply

