Sugarhouse Dental Spa



A few weeks ago my teeth started hurting and I decided that it was time to go to the dentist. I had avoided going to the dentist for about a year and a half–I had not even gone for a teeth cleaning. This may sound disgusting, but I actually have very hygenic teeth. Even the hygenist said my teeth were surprisingly well taken care of.

I first asked my gay friend CK, who cares about good service, and also lives 5 min away from me, if he had a dentist he would recommend in the area. He said he loved his current dentist and that he would highly recommend that I go there, especially since it’s located less than an exit away on Redwood road which is a block away from my house. I gave them a call immediately to be told that my new dental insurance, Assurant, was not considered an in-network for their office. I then went to the Assurant website, logged in, and found out that this insurance actually covered both in and out of network almost the same–meaning that it didn’t matter where I went to get my dental work done, the insurance would cover a good portion of the services.

Great news! …but instead of calling CK’s dentist back immediately, I went to yelp.com and looked up good dentist in the Salt Lake City are. What I found was this 5-star-rated Sugarhouse Dental Spa, and also a raving review on this guy’s blog.

I was so excited, I immediately gave them a call and made an appointment for a teeth cleaning. Not surprisingly, they were booked out for 2 weeks, and then a month following that booking.

*********************************

Two weeks later, I arrived at the location a few minutes early, and found that the dental spa was everything I had ever dreamed of (after reading reviews). I walked in and the reception area looked like a spa with deep colors and electronica-ish music playing in the background. The receptionist immediately greeted me, asking if I was ‘Amber,’ and after she had checked me in, another friendly girl lead me to the ‘waiting room,’ while asking me if I wanted anything to drink. I attempted to take a picture of the waiting room:

There were 3 massage chairs (EXCELLENT massage chairs), and I was given a clipboard with standard paperwork to fill out, with the exception of this:

They gave me 5 flavors to choose from for the tooth polish, an option to have lavender with a complimentary head & neck massage, and either a warm/cool eye compress or a pressure point temple cream!

I sat in the spa-like waiting room, enjoying soothing music, a great massage chair, and a calming view of the courtyard (photo at the top of this blog). After about 10 minutes, another friendly girl introduced herself, and offered to wrap my hand in parafin. She then lead me to the dental room, had me lay down in the chair, and put a warm eye compress over my eyes. This was wonderful–my hands and eyes were being pampered while sitting in that horrific dentist’s chair. I couldn’t see anything scary, not even that bright light they shine into your eye even though they’re trying to look at your teeth. Instead of boring office music, they were playing good pop/trance music, and even though the teeth cleaning was painful as ever (since I hadn’t had my teeth cleaned in over a year and my gums were weak), the entire experience was so unique and delightful that I was convinced I would not go to any other dentist from now on.

The dentist, I heard, was a gay man, and by the sound of his voice (my eyes were still covered when he came to examin my teeth), I also assumed he was gay, but he was a very nice gay man…as most gay men are. He also sounded like your typical knowledgeable dentist, so he was not anyone trying to coverup his lack of skill with fancy ambience. He was a legitimate dentist.

The only downside to this place was that the bathroom was extremely small as it was in an old building, I still don’t know what the dentist looks like, and that you could hear the receptionists chattering in the reception area which was right by the dental rooms. Aside from that, I have nothing but good things to say about this place.

I mean, no one likes going to the dentist, but we all have to, and if we absolutely have to, why not go to a place that tries hard to take the edge off of that scary dentist exprience?

Many many kudos to Dr. Graham and his wonderful team!!!

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sugarhouse Dental Spa

  1. kaisak says:

    Once you’ve been more than once, you’ll feel like your at home and not even notice those little things like a small bathroom or the receptionist on the other side of the wall. It is a Fantastic place to go. Because of how awesome this place is…my husband who hadn’t EVER gone to the dentist until college goes religiously and looks forward to it every 6 months! The dentist is quite HOT! Gay or not who cares, hes handsome, fun and one of the most caring dentist’s I’ve ever had. Sugarhouse Dental Spa is not a disappointment by any means.

    Oh and don’t forget to try some of the fun dried fruit and nuts they have in the waiting room along with your coffee while you wait next time.

Leave a Reply

