European delight at Harmon’s

Yesterday I had to make a quick stop at Harmon’s–the world’s greatest grocery store.



Now, I need to make a very clear point that Harmon’s on Redwood road has probably been one of my most beloved grocery stores of all time, and has taken the place right next to Costco.

Every time I go to Harmon’s, I find myself leaving the store feeling extremely happy and satisfied. They’re fresh produce and meats are of excellent quality. Their staff are always offering assistance with a smile, cashiers and baggers are friendly, registers are always open when busy, and their store is always super clean. Not to mention they have a decent sized organic food section. Oh and did I mention they have beautiful floral section, a great pharmacy that offers you a pager while waiting for your perscription drugs AND they’re 24hrs open? They offer decent Sushi as well.

I really can’t praise this store enough. It is THE best grocery store I’ve ever been to, and all grocery stores should follow their glorious example. I LOVE Harmon’s !!!!!

********************

Yesterday I had to make a quick stop at Harmon’s to pick up some sushi and a number of other items for dinner. The last stop I made before I hit the cash register was the canned veggies/fruits isle. I picked up two cans of organic corn and a can of no-salt tomatoes, and headed towards the cash registers.

As I passed the canned beans and approached the canned fruits, I noticed something VERY peculiar to me–a very European/Scandinavian-looking candy caught my eye. I stopped, and took a closer look, and this is what I saw (yes I took a picture in the grocery store ).

There was a small European food section in the middle of the canned goods isle!!!! This was such a delightful, surprising discovery for me as I’ve always been fascinated by European goods. I grew up in Kobe City (Japan) which is the 2nd largest port in Japan, and the air was very simliar to San Francisco–upscale with foreign cultures. There were many import stores that carried European foods, and I would spend hours reading labels, exploring new delicacies. I also grew up with many European/Scandinavian friends, and so this section was really an exciting find. This is really the sort of experience I have at Harmon’s on a weekly basis. I LOVE Harmon’s!!!!

I picked up a container of cookies from the UK as a way to partake of this wonderful introduction.

These cookies are DELICIOUS! They are not too sweet, and they don’t hurt your teeth. My boyfriend asked if they were for ‘old people’ becuase they’re called ‘Digestives,’ but I think that’s just another word for cookies or biscuit in England. See Digestives on Wikipidia.

About ambertaniuchi

I'm a 30 something Japanese female living in Salt Lake City, Utah. I grew up in Japan but also consider Hawaii my home. I am a QA Engineer by day but rock 'n' roll in a band called Lady Murasaki by night. I love all things vintage, gourmet and scotch, scotch, scotch. See these links for our music and FB. ladymurasaki.bandcamp.com https://www.facebook.com/ladymurasakiband
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

